Print Page


FAS Public Service Award:
Since 1971, the Federation of American Scientists (FAS) has recognized an outstanding statesman or public interest advocate who has made a distinctive contribution to public policy at the intersection of science and national security.  Past recipients include Senator Edward M. Kennedy, Richard Garwin, Carl Sagan, and Phillip Morrison.

  • 1971 Richard L. Garwin
  • 1972 Matthew S. Meselson
  • 1973 Wolfgang K.H. Panofsky
  • 1975 Bernard T. Feld
  • 1976 Hans A. Bethe
  • 1977 Bruce N Ames
  • 1978 William A. Shurcliff
  • 1979 John P. Holdren
  • 1980 Jerome B. Weisner
  • 1981 Philip Morrison
  • 1982 Randall Forsberg
  • 1983 Edward M. Kennedy
  • 1984 Ruth Adams
  • 1985 Carl Sagan
  • 1986 Charles B. Archambeau
    Jack F. Evernden
    Lynn R. Sykes
  • 1987 Thomas B. Cochran
  • 1988 Hugh E. Dewitt
  • 1989 Frank von Hippel
  • 1990 John H. Gibbons
  • 1991 John E. Pike
  • 1992 Herbert F. York
  • 1993 George Soros
  • 1994 Jeremy J. Stone
  • 1995 Lester R. Brown
  • 1996 Sally Lillienthal
  • 1997 Richard L. Garwin
  • 1998 Morton H. Halperin
  • 2007 Edward J. Markey
  • 2008 Mark Levine
  • 2010 Barbara Pyle
  • 2011 Richard G. Lugar
  • 2012 Sidney D. Drell, Henry
    Kissinger, Samuel Nunn, 
    George P. Shultz, William Perry 

FAS Hans Bethe Award:
In 2003, FAS inaugurated the Hans Bethe Award. Bethe helped found FAS with the belief that scientists had an obligation to participate in the difficult choices that were forced on our country by the extraordinary advances in nuclear physics so vividly demonstrated by the development and use of atomic weapons. In the sixty years since the founding of the organization, the range and complexity of issues hinging on sound scientific advice has increased.

2003 Philip Morrison
... for his unfailing ethical compass to America’s most critical decisions.  

2005 Steve Fetter
... in recognition of his outstanding contributions as an advocate for arms control and nonproliferation, and for his insightful and rigorous analyses of nuclear energy climate change and of carbon-free energy supply.

2007 Matt Bunn
... in recognition of his work to understand and promote the global control of dangerous nuclear materials and to stop the spread of nuclear weapons.

2008 Raymond Jeanloz
... for his demonstration of the reliability of the U.S. nuclear stockpile in the presence of a moratorium on nuclear testing.

2010 John P. Holdren
... for his enduring work on complex global issues that hinge on science and technology.

2011 Steven Chu
... for his innovative solutions to the energy challenge in the United States and commitment to developing carbon-neutral sources of energy.

2012 Stanford Ovshinsky
... for his outstanding research and development of materials science that have been applied to solar photovoltaic technologies, superconductors and electric vehicles. 

FAS Richard L. Garwin Award:
In 2011, the Federation of American Scientists inaugurated the Richard L. Garwin Award. This award was established by FAS to honor the remarkable career of Dr. Richard L. Garwin, and to recognize his exceptional contributions in both scientific and technical achievement and his legacy of an enhanced national security to the benefit of society. Dr. Garwin’s critical analysis of national security and intelligence issues has resulted in a nation that is stronger and more secure. This award recognizes his legacy of brilliant work as a scientific and technological leader and advisor. 

The FAS Richard L. Garwin Award for Distinguished Service is an annual award that recognizes an individual who, through exceptional achievement in science and technology, has made an outstanding contribution toward the benefit of mankind.

2011 Richard A. Meserve
... for distinguished service and significant contributions to nuclear safety as Chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and for more than 30 years of leadership in science policy.

2012 John F. Ahearne
... for significant contributions to nuclear safety as Chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and for years of leadership in science policy.