Print Page

Hans Bethe Award 

Hans A. Bethe co-founded the Federation of Atomic Scientists, now the Federation of American Scientists (FAS), with the belief that scientists had an obligation to participate in the difficult choices that were forced on our country by the extraordinary advances in nuclear physics so vividly demonstrated by the development and use of atomic weapons.

In the sixty years since the founding of the organization, the range and complexity of issues hinging on sound scientific advice has increased.

In 2003, Hans Bethe presented the award to Philip Morrison for his unfailing ethical compass to America’s most critical decisions. 

Today, FAS presents the Hans A. Bethe Award to Steve Fetter in recognition of his outstanding contributions as an advocate for arms control and nonproliferation and for his insightful and rigorous analysis of nuclear energy, climate change, and carbon-free energy supply.  Dr. Fetter is a former vice chairman of the FAS Board of Directors and the current dean of the University of Maryland’s School of Public Policy.

In addition to his leadership at the School of Public Policy, where he has been a professor since 1988, Fetter serves on the National Academy of Sciences’ Committee on International Security and Arms Control, the Department of Energy's Nuclear Energy Research Advisory Committee, the board of directors of the Sustainable Energy Institute and the Arms Control Association, the advisory board of Human Rights Watch's Arms Division, the University of Chicago's Advisory Committee on Nuclear Non-Proliferation, and the Board of Editors of Science and Global Security.

He is a fellow of the American Physical Society, a recipient of its Joseph A. Burton Forum Award, and a member of its Panel on Public Affairs.

Dr. Fetter has served as special assistant to the Assistant Secretary of Defense for International Security Policy (1993-94), an American Institute of Physics fellow (2004), and was a Council on Foreign Relations International Affairs Fellow (1992) at the State Department. He has been a visiting fellow at Stanford’s Center for International Security and Cooperation, Harvard’s Center for Science and International Affairs, MIT’s Plasma Fusion Center, and Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. He also has been a consultant to several U.S. government agencies. He received a Ph.D. in energy and resources from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1985 and a S.B. in physics from MIT in 1981.